How To Sign That Condolence Card

Firstly, if you are reading this post, let me express my sympathies for your loss. Next, let me laud you for taking the time to write a message to – and perhaps even purchase a card for – the person in your life who is going through this difficult time.  It is challenging to figure out what to write to someone at a time like this, but your acquaintance will keep the memory of your thoughtfulness, and perhaps that actual paper, with them for a long time to come.

Now let’s get down to business.  I won’t tell you here what the main content of your message should be – there are a lot of factors that go into what to include in that piece.  But closing your message can also be hard.  Working with historical documents, I have come across the inevitable condolence letters – thankfully they have been mostly eloquent and moving.  Below you will find some of the best closings I have read:

My sincere regard,

My deepest sympathy,

May God grant you strength,

Keeping you in my thoughts and heart/prayers,

My sincerest condolences,

May you find comfort in this time of grief, Sincerely (or With Love,)

My heartfelt condolences,

May you find strength and comfort in your friends and family,

Thinking of you at this difficult time,

One choice isn’t better than another, and just knowing that you took the time to try and comfort your acquaintance in one way or another can be the most helpful thing of all for them.  May we meet again at happier times.

Leave a Reply

